and Music and More

What It Is ~ Rob Ickes ~ CD ~ New


All Music Guide - Travis Drageset
As in 1999's Slide City, Rob Ickes again combines jazz and swing stylings with the more countrified leanings of the dobro. The results are mixed and, at times, meld into a too-smooth combo resembling light jazz. What It Is works best when Ickes loosens up a bit around the instrument's natural inclinations: the way he works the melody on "Killeen," which was inspired by the Texan town, seems to point toward a more string-based effort; a cover of Marc Johnson's "Union Pacific" further iterates Ickes' simpler but no less enjoyable leanings; and "Blues for Sammy," which was written in response to Charlie Parker's Savoy sessions, allows him to stretch out his abilities as a great technician of the instrument.

1 Mr. Goodbar    
2 Scheerhorn Shuffle    
3 Self Portrait    
4 Stanford and Son    
5 I'll Take Les    
6 Killeen    
7 Juke Joint    
8 Blues for Sammy    
9 When We Were Leaving    
10 Union Pacific    
11 50 Years Ago    

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Friday 21 November, 2014.

Important Links

PayPal Accepted Here


Who's Online

There currently are 2 guests online.
Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 ChainMan Books. Powered by Zen Cart
PayPal Acceptance Mark