and Music and More

Sounds of Wood and Steel ~ Various Artists ~ CD ~ Used VG


All Music Guide - Ross Boissoneau
Conceived as a tribute to Taylor guitars, this recording manages to transcend any stereotypes of projects dedicated to the advancement of a business principle or product. That's due to the quality of the performers, the pieces they play, and the passion they bring to them. There's really not a misstep in the bunch. Guitar slingers from Russ Freeman to Leo Kottke, Steve Stevens and Billy Joe Walker are joined by singers such as Vince Gill, Kathy Mattea, Amy Grant and Joe Lynn Turner who eschew voice in favor of guitar. Of particular note is "Java Man" by Michael Hedges. This was the last recording Hedges made before his untimely death in an automobile accident, and Windham Hill founder William Ackerman speaks to his legacy in moving liner notes. Volume II is promised to follow.

Disc: 1:

1 Larry's World 2:31 Russ Freeman
2 Nothing's Too Good (For a Friend) 4:44 Doyle Dykes
3 The Claw 2:00 Clint Black
4 Java Man 3:45 Michael Hedges
5 How Great Thou Art 3:54 Vince Gill & Amy Grant
6 Into the Night 3:13 Bill Cooley with Kathy Mattea
7 Who Lives up There 3:47 Snuffy Walden
8 Processional 4:33 Will Ackerman
9 Marina 3:19 Jr Skip Ewing & Billy Joe Walker
10 Sadhana 4:39 Steve Stevens
11 Liquid Amber 4:16 Laurence Juber
12 Surreal 3:04 T J Baden
13 Alma d'Alma 4:47 Stuart Smith & Joe Lynn Turner
14 Jesus Maria 2:24 Leo Kottke
15 The Last Mile Home 4:10 Larry Stewart & Greg Jennings

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 04 November, 2014.

Important Links

PayPal Accepted Here


Who's Online

There currently are 2 guests online.
Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 ChainMan Books. Powered by Zen Cart
PayPal Acceptance Mark