and Music and More

Down from the Mountain ~ O Brother Where Art Thou? ~ CD ~ Good


Live Concert Performances by the Artists & Musicians of O Brother, Where Art Thou?

Country music reclaimed its traditional soul with the chart-topping triumph of the O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack. This concert sequel, recorded (and filmed) at Nashville's venerable Ryman Auditorium, reunites Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch, Alison Krauss and Union Station, and other O Brother standouts. With little duplication, the selection extends the movie's revival of acoustic spirituals and Appalachian balladry, though the performances and pacing of the concert aren't quite as consistently compelling as the studio soundtrack. Among the highlights are a pair of originals by Welch and David Rawlings, the bluesy "Dear Someone" and the Everlyesque "I Want to Sing That Rock and Roll." Where O Brother interspersed archival recordings among the contemporary artistry, the concert finds Nashville gospel's Fairfield Four harmonizing on the chain-gang chant of "Po' Lazarus," while the late John Hartford (in one of his final performances) renews the deadpan whimsy of "Big Rock Candy Mountain." --Don McLeese

1 Po Lazarus 4:38 Fairfield Four
2 Big Rock Candy Mountain 4:39 John Hartford
3 Wild Bill Jones 4:13 D. Tyminski/Alison Krauss
4 Blue & Lonesome 4:00 Alison Krauss
5 I Am Weary 3:34 Cox Family
6 Will There Be Any Stars 3:10 Cox Family
7 My Dear Someone 3:07 Gillian Welch & David Rawlings
8 I Want To Sing That... 2:54 Gillian Welch & David Rawlings
9 Sandy Land 2:34 The Whites
10 John Law Burned... 4:25 CT King/C. Linden
11 Green Pastures 3:26 E. Harris
12 I'll Fly Away 4:02 Gillian Welch & Alison Krauss

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Friday 23 October, 2015.

Important Links

PayPal Accepted Here


Who's Online

There currently are 3 guests online.
Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 ChainMan Books. Powered by Zen Cart
PayPal Acceptance Mark