and Music and More

Somebody Spoke ~ The Hardship Post ~ Pop Rock ~ CD ~ New


The Hardship Post: Sebastian Lippa (guitar, vocals), Mike Pick (bass), Matt Clarke (drums).Personnel: Sebastian Lippa (vocals, guitar); Matt Clarke (drums).Recording information: white Room Studios, Detroit, MI.Buzz can be a major boon to an up-and-coming band, but it can also be a real momentum killer, creating unrealistic expectations for a group too young and inexperienced to deliver the big time goods. So you'll be forgiven for being slightly skeptical about this band from Halifax, Nova Scotia, who were signed to the U.S.' premiere grunge label at the height of the post-Nirvana signing frenzy. Fortunately, the Hardship Post don't try to fill anyone's shoes, and actually seem pretty damn comfy in their own. Instead of the in-the-red aural overload preferred by Seattle's finest, this trio keeps their sound as sparse and simple as possible for a guitar rock band. The only real Nirvana connection here is in guitarist/vocalist Sebastian Lippa's slightly skewed songwriting, which features catchy minor-key chord progressions, intelligent lyrics, and memorable choruses even Kurt Cobain would be proud of. Songs like "Slick Talkin' Jack," "New Wave," and "Garbagetruck" may subtly evoke memories of the more famous trio, but the Hardship Post has a quirky style all their own that makes them stick out among the mid-'90s crop of Nirvana wannabes like a sore thumb. ~ Bret Love

# Title/Songwriter    
1 New Wave
2 Garbage Truck
3 What a Day
4 Capability
5 Watchin' You
6 Your Sunshine
7 My Secret Life
8 What a Day
9 Just for Little
10 Slick Talkin' Jack
11 If I...

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Saturday 02 July, 2016.

Important Links

PayPal Accepted Here


Who's Online

There currently are 3 guests online.
Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 ChainMan Books. Powered by Zen Cart
PayPal Acceptance Mark